Immigration Reform Debate Summary: Part I

Immigration reform is a highly controversial topic. In fact, I wrote a research paper last semester and learned a host of new information. Both sides of the debate are frustrated, tired, and angry. 

Now, I would like to premise this topic by stating that: 1) I am hispanic; 2) Some of my closest friends are illegal immigrants; and 3) I have a heart for my community. 

That being said, here are the basic points as I understand them from the nation debate on Immigration Reform.

Republicans and Democrats (Where they agree):

– Fines for coming in illegally. Depends on the amount of time being here illegally in the U.S.

– A pathway to Citizenship (How long and the process is where they differ);

– Deport violent offenders (Those with felonies).

Democrats

– Want an immediate Path to Citizenship over securing the border;

– Want Citizenship for all illegals above residency status, etc..

– Do not want deportations.

– Want very lax immigration laws.

Republicans (Conservatives):

– Want to secure the border before any legislation is passed;

– Republicans are split on a Pathway to Citizenship;

– Want strict work laws;

– Some, not all, want to deport all 12 million+

– Want a long Pathway to Citizenship and prefer illegal immigrants obtain residency status over Citizenship.

These are the bullet points. I do not pretend to have written all the points or to perfectly represent both sides. However, these are the basic bullet points for this topic. Let me know what you think. Thanks! 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. I think your condensation of the issue is fair and concise. The only thing I disagree with is that term “illegal alien”. I’m sure you were using it because it’s common speech. But word choices and accuracy of terms matters. Actions can be crimes. A person can’t be “illegal”. That’s why I use “undocumented”.

    1. Hi Mikey,

      I appreciate the comment and I am trying to be as fair as possible. Thank you for your honesty. I use “illegal alien” because: 1) They are here illegally against the laws of the United States; 2) They have not been granted permission to be here. However, it is not meant to be demeaning. I actually use it in Spanish with my illegal friends. Lol!

Leave a Reply

